E Pluribus Minimus, -Splained [the tutorial]


Alright here goes.

I had a handful of folks asking about my latest setup and questioning the functionality and day-to-day usability of the screen. Not really in a WTF kind of way, but honestly, that’s how I took it. Damnit.

So here goes, the first tutorial for me: E Pluribus Minimus, -Splained

This is where we are going so buckle up folks.

First, we have the basics of Minimalistic text and wallpaper…

If you need help with these two items here’s what I can offer: use a custom layout for the clock on minimalistic text and override the size to be in the 70’s somewhere. Maybe an accent too. The wall will be your preference but the one I used is here. I think it looks good.

So just to be clear, we’re using ADW EX launcher here. Anyone with LPP can stick around, but you may have to get creative with some of the features that we use. Not saying it can’t be done, but it may take some gumption on your part.

Okay notice the dock, 5 spots for whatever the heck we want on there. I have been using transparent icons for a while now (since Windows 6.1?) and I can’t get over them. So guess what, that’s what I did. I assigned invisible icons for each of the two outside to look like the following:

PHONE | CAMERA | APP DRAWER | TEXT MESSAGE | WEB BROWSER (Granted the app drawer will have an icon. You knew that though.)

Next you’ll notice that weird looking icon above the center icon on the bottom… that one in the picture just above the middle + sign, looks kind of funny? Like a bar and an arrow and some dots on the bottom…

On ADW you have the option to create ‘Launcher Actions’ and this icon is “open/close dockbar”. This is a secondary dock in ADW that give you an option to toggle docks. Make this transparent and remember where you put it.

The icon above it is the app drawer. I swapped mine with  a sharp looking white circle icon, -simple and clean.

This is where we should be now. Kinda. Yes? Good. I’m not going back.

So you LPP guys can probably drop out here. Unless you know of features that I have yet to discover. In that case, feel free to PM me on XDA… 😉

Here’s where it gets really cool- remember the icon that creates the different dock? The one I told you to remember? The ‘dockbar’?

We’re going to use it now.

Watch this!

We tap on that and a vague shadow appears on the bottom of the screen. Little do we know, but that shadow is that dang ‘ol dock bar we’ve been talking about this whole time!

Well (hehe) here’s what we do with it. Take an app that you want to have access to and create a shortcut on the desktop. I would recommend folders as they have more functionality and versatility. (Yes I still use folder organizer…                       no comment).

Cram your apps in your folders and take a moment to change the icon.

I use an icon that matches the clock I’m sporting at the moment, keeping the clean interface.

-Sidenote

Yeah, I know the size of the clock on the first screen vs. the one we’re working with now is different. So?

-Maybe I flashed a font that crashed my whole get-up… Who knew?

Sheesh!

Now you’re getting to where you need to be. Functional. Drag your new apps/folders down to rest on your dock.

Hopefully you ended up looking something like this with all kinds of functionality.

Press that “magic” icon and you get this:

Nice and clean.

That’s my first tutorial.

Thanks

2 thoughts on “E Pluribus Minimus, -Splained [the tutorial]

  1. I’m trying to figure out the minimalistic text part and I don’t get how you’re making the 8 (like in 12:28 in the second to last screenshot) be bigger than the rest. or how the “47” in “12:47” in the last screenshot is aligned to the top. would love to figure this stuff out…

    Mine keeps coming out with the hour one size, the minutes another, and then aligned at the bottom…

Leave a Reply

